.
5 Questions

Record released on 2003-08-13 at 6:07 p.m.

The last couple of days have been hard, funny, and all-round amusing. Hard because I'm feeling really bad after the bleed (which is still dragging on), funny because I've been living n the wonderful world of bizarreness that seems to occur without even leaving the house and all round amusing because the brainkillers manage to make everything seem funny.

Take today, for example. We had, accidentally, a batch of BBC Annual Reports delivered. I say accidentally because there is no way that we would be on the list of vital receipients for that. We are a counselling service - when people come to us with their relationship problems, they do not tell us, "My wife doesn't understand me - perhaps we'd get along better if we knew how much money the BBC spent on funding Radio 4 last year!"

But stranger than that, they appear to have sent us a version for five-year-olds. Beside each fascinating bullet point was a small, childish drawing to illustrate the concept and even the wording was made to sound like a learn-to-read book. I was in fits of giggles as soon as I opened one up. It has exciting factlets such as,

"BBC Two has done very well this year. It showed lots of programmes that people remembered. The programmes made people think. They were on at times when lots of people watch TV."

Erm, yes.... all we're missing is the part where Betsy loses her big red ball in the park and Spot goes for a walk.

My boss was at the other branch today so I had an interesting time trying to explain them over the phone to him. We had a whole bloody batch of the damn things delivered! He suggested putting them in the bin, but what a waste that would have been.... so I brought one home with me to torture my nearest and dearest with and I left the others lurking on my boss's desk as a majorly nasty surprise :)

If anyone would like one, let me know and I'll wrestle them into my bag next week!

On another subject, several weeks ago Inkdragon was kind enough to ask me five questions as part of the five questions madness that's been going around, but not having been too well lately I've not had the chance to concentrate on them. Tonight, however, I am finally feeling a bit stronger and I have plenty of time to concentrate on them.

1. You�ve shared you live in Surrey, England. Would you describe it to me including favorite sights and smells?

I've lived in Surrey all my life, and I have to admit that I like it. I prefer the town I work in to the one where I live, even though they are just 5 minutes apart on the train they are very different. But one thing both have in common are the winding back-roads. It's amazing what you can find there. One minute you're walking along the main roads, and the next you're slipping down a winding, steep road with ten different possibilities. I used to go for a wander along them on a friday afternoon with my friends when we were let out early from art college. We would walk and walk, through all the roads that we'd never seen before, but somehow we managed to never, ever get lost.

The one sound that stands out from my town is the chiming of the bells, not from a church but from the local shopping centre. The story is that one of the bells was preserved and restored from a famous building nearby which was used on TV many times in the past but demolished shortly after I was born. The bell stayed unused for many years, but when the shopping centre was built just over 10 years ago the bell found its new home. Sometimes one of the three bells breaks down and three chimes are downgraded to two, but that just adds to the charm of it :)

2. You are a talented artist. Have you had any formal training, if so, where?

I spent four pleasurable, joyous years at an art college called RSAD, which now no longer officially exists. It's now been merged with the college where I worked for a year, on new premises which have just been built and don't feel like an art college at all.

I trained as a graphic designer but my heart lays with illustration and portraiture. As I felt I could never make a living from either, i felt pressured into chosing graphics, but after working one year as a graphic designer I just felt extremely unhappy in it. That may be where the money is, but it's not where my happiness is. That's when by accident I stumbled into tattoo designing, and I have never been so happy :)

3. If you had your choice of roles in a theatre production of Rocky Horror Picture Show, which character would you play? Why?

Fantastic question! I think I would like to be Columbia. I consider myself a groupie by nature, just as she was to Dr. Frank N. Furter, and a bit of a small but loud person when I want to be. Her hair, clothing.... the whole style of the character appeals to me. It's one of my ambitions to dress as her for a fancy dress party one day.

4. Do you have a circle of friends or one special trustworthy person?

I feel quite lucky to have a few circles of friends, some online and some in real life. I have friends with whom I laugh like crazy and joke around non stop but whom I could never share my emotions with, and I have ones with whom I can share the way I'm feeling as well as laugh and joke. Sadly, those I feel closest to are generally not on the same soil as me - the only problem with the internet is that it flings friendships all around the world. But it's the metaphorical closeness rather than the geographical which matters the most.

5. Where will your dreams lead you in ten year�s time?

Do you know, I have no idea! I honestly can't even tell you where I'd like to be in ten years because for the first time in my life I'm happy enough in the moment. Since I have been working where I am now, I have plans to train as a counsellor myself in a few years time, but a lot will depend on health. I don't know where I'll be in 10 years time or what I'll be doing, only that I will be with Y, and as scared of Tortoises as I am today :) As long as I feel as happy in myself as I am at the moment, then that's all that I can really dream for :)

Thank you *very* much to Inkdragon for those questions - I'm just so sorry it took me so long to be able to do them! If, in turn, you would like five questions then please leave me a note or put a message in my guestbook (Humans only, those with shells will be refused!) It might take me a long time to get around to doing them, but I *WILL* do them in the end, so just ask :)

I am off now for some cheese and some reading. I'll be back in the morning before Y arrives for the weekend. In the meanwhile, don't forget all those wonderful programmes on the BBC .....'Blowing', 'own' and 'trumpet', anyone??

What's On: Friends on Channel 4. That's CHANNEL FOUR, not BBC2!

Next: Eating

Quote of the Moment: "BBC Radio 3 Played lots of classical music and music from other countries..."

<< Last Track / Next Track >>
.

.

Fantastic Double CD Includes Tracks:
.

1. Latest
2. Archives
3. Links
4. Rings
5. Profile
6. Biography
7. Googles
8. Health
9. Sexuality
10. LiveJournal
11. Dream Diary
12. Private
13. Surveys
14. Rings I Run
15. Tattoos
16. Wishlist
.

Karaoke versions available of:

GUESTBOOK - NOTES - TOISEBOOK
- EMAIL - FORUM -

.

CD 2 Includes the Following Remixes:
.

Powered by TagBoard
Name

URL or Email

Messages (smilies)

Starting Again? - 2005-06-11
Returning - 2004-08-16
Just Wondering - - 2004-07-30
Birthday - 2004-02-23
A New Year - 2003-12-31



grrr // Jaye
.

..

.
All lyrics ramblings � Little Miss X, with painkillers on backing vocals, 'toises on drums and Izzles on the musical toilet rolls. And if you would like to know more about the music *I* enjoy, see my playlist. Best viewed in 800x600 and with a pair of eyes and a sense of humour.With thanks to Diaryland.

.
.

Check out great albums by the following artists: ......And many, many more!