.
Of Umbrellas, Rain and Roxy Music

Record released on 2003-06-04 at 5:52 p.m.

# Some expression in your eyes
Overtook me by surprise
Where was I how was I to know?

How can we drive to a movie show
When the music is here in my car
There�s a band playing on the radio
With a rhythm of rhyming guitars
They playing Oh Yeah on the radio
Oh-ohh-ohh.... #

Argh. The bleeding is now even heavier and I'm going to Y's tomorrow :/ Good thing Virgin's seats are red already :/ I'm sorry, I know that's revolting! My bag will resemble a small chemist tomorrow. Well, a chemist and a library. I'm taking my book to write on the journey! I'm wondering how many books I can carry without breaking my back. I want to take my current book, and a blank one in case I finish the one I've already started.... but then again, should I take the plotline book and plan out some future stories on the journey home instead? Pah, 'tis a hard decision.

Today's been hilarious. I love the way that these bizarre things just find me. No sign of Running Man or his little running friend though. Another thing about him that amuses me is the way he occasionally cries, "Has it gone yet?" as he races up to the platform, not specifying what train he means or, in fact, if he even means a train at all. He could be talking about his own hair for all I know!

Today has been a very rainy day. I observed a strange gentleman attempting to read his newspaper while he walked along in the pouring rain. When he pulled it out I assumed he was about to cover his head with it, but I was wrong. Then there was an umbrella 'asleep' in the toilet at work. it was curled up in the corner and Gill decided it was sleeping. In fact, when we dipped our voices we could almost hear it snore :)

And someone nicked off with my umbrella at work! Pah! They're not a bunch of criminal masterminds, it must have been an accident, but it was annoying for a little X who was facing a storm on the way to the station. However, the last laugh was on whoever took it because little did they know that my umbrella had been blown inside out so many times that it was falling to pieces and collapses onto your face after about ten minutes of use.... ;)

In other news, today I posted my enrollment form and cheque to book my place on the jewellery making course. I have already booked the time off work and booked taxis to the college and back each day that week. I'm so keyed up about it - it's something I've always wanted to do and now I'll finally get the chance.

In all my nostalgia over the last couple of weeks, I have noticed something. Sometimes, amongst my memories of 1997, a few snatches of 1998 creep in without bringing back the bits about him. Usually even thinking about that summer is a minefield. The number '98' automatically brings a cold horror over me. I wish that it didn't because there were some things from that summer that I'd have held dear as wonderful memories if there hadn't been such a dark cloud over that whole time.

Last night I got out my Roxy Music CD and played "Oh Yeah (On The Radio)". I can't recall how many times exactly I head it that summer but it was a fair few. The local station used to have a show called 'Saturday Night at the 80s' which I'd listen to religiously. On The Radio seemed to be a favourite of the DJ. It played over and over, but it took me weeks to work out it was Roxy Music.

# And so came to be our song
And so on through all summer long
Day and night drifting into love

Driving you home from a movie show
So in tune to the sounds in my car
There�s a band playing on the radio
With a rhythm of rhyming guitars
They playing Oh Yeah on the radio
Oh-ohh-ohh.... #

There are snatches of that summer that I've let come back to me. One bad memory and I'd tried to block the whole quarter out of my mind. But there were bits - good bits - I should never have forgotten.

...The drawing of a picture on a saturday evening, 80s music on the radio and a warm breeze blowing through my hair from the window. A glass of wine beside me and graphite smeared across my palm...

....My midnight first-viewing of the Between The Lines tape I'd had on order for months, fast forwarding every part to get to the bits with Jaye in, and finally letting myself blush when I spoke about her....

....A day by the coast, a cone of chips in my hand and a brand new stud at the top of my ear. Windswept and exhausted I trundled home....

...Uxbridge..... oh, Uxbridge.... a true pilgrimage to get to the one building which had eluded me...

....Writing for hours upon hours until my wrist hurt so badly that I thought it might drop to the floor. Writing so intently that I didn't even notice when it got dark. Writing with such passion that I almost held my breath with anticipation....

I don't know what's changed in me lately, but something has. Looking back so much but extracting only the good memories - whilst finding ways to dispose of the bad at long last. It's done me a lot of good. When the end of the month comes around it will still get to me, I know that. But not in the way that it has in the past. There's something different in me that I can't put a finger on.

I have big, Miranda-type plans at the moment. Lots of big ideas and little energy to go around them but I'm still going to try. Somehow, a tape of an aardvark is involved in that but you'd best not ask why :)

Ugh, time to pack I suppose. Right, dave, you'd better come with me - it's time for another train ride!

Hopefully I'll be back in the morning before I leave.... and hopefully I won;t be running up to the platform shouting, "Waaaaiiiiiiiittttt!!!" tomorrow!

# It�s some time since we said goodbye
And now we lead our separate lives
But where am I where can I go?

Driving alone to a movie show
So I turn to the sounds in my car
There�s a band playing on the radio
With a rhythm of rhyming guitars
There�s a band playing on the radio
And it�s drowning the sound of my tears
They�re playing Oh Yeah on the radio
Oh-ohh-ohh....#

What's On: Oh Yeah (On The Radio). Not surprisingly!

Next: Packing

Quote of the Moment: "Be very quiet if you go in the toilet. there's an unbrella all curled up asleep in there..."

<< Last Track / Next Track >>
.

.

Fantastic Double CD Includes Tracks:
.

1. Latest
2. Archives
3. Links
4. Rings
5. Profile
6. Biography
7. Googles
8. Health
9. Sexuality
10. LiveJournal
11. Dream Diary
12. Private
13. Surveys
14. Rings I Run
15. Tattoos
16. Wishlist
.

Karaoke versions available of:

GUESTBOOK - NOTES - TOISEBOOK
- EMAIL - FORUM -

.

CD 2 Includes the Following Remixes:
.

Powered by TagBoard
Name

URL or Email

Messages (smilies)

Starting Again? - 2005-06-11
Returning - 2004-08-16
Just Wondering - - 2004-07-30
Birthday - 2004-02-23
A New Year - 2003-12-31



grrr // Jaye
.

..

.
All lyrics ramblings � Little Miss X, with painkillers on backing vocals, 'toises on drums and Izzles on the musical toilet rolls. And if you would like to know more about the music *I* enjoy, see my playlist. Best viewed in 800x600 and with a pair of eyes and a sense of humour.With thanks to Diaryland.

.
.

Check out great albums by the following artists: ......And many, many more!