.
War

Record released on 2003-03-18 at 7:34 p.m.

I didn't want to write about war. But somehow, I have to.

I am not an expert on Iraq, on foreign politics or indeed on our own. I'll never be prime minister; would never want to. I don't have access to the facts and figures that those in charge have, or at least claim to. I know *very* little about the workings of government, of the UN and so on. I'm just an average member of Joe Public, going to work on the train, gazing at page 3 in the Star, pulling up the sheets on my bed every morning and turning them back down every night. I know no more or no less than anyone who's been watching the news these last few months. But unlike most, I cannot make up my mind whether I believe this war should take place or not.

I go round in circles. I know that on the one hand, Saddam's had plenty long enough to comply and we should get tough. But on the other hand, why now? Why not two years ago or five years from now? I have read and heard about the state of things in Iraq under his rule - but how can anyone be sure that if Saddam is removed that whoever follows on will be any better? My head argues one way and then the other. I will not, therefore, be writing any entry for or against this war. That's not my place to say. But I am going to list the points which bother me most right now:

- Isn't going to war a bit like poking the snake that's asleep in the corner? If Saddam Hussein has these weapons of mass destruction hidden away then isn't attacking him the one sure-fire way of making him bring them out and use them?

- In a news report a couple of weeks back, a spokesman for someone or other was boasting that we (UK, US and whoever else they rustle up) have 'devastating bombs' that if dropped on Iraq will make them surrender in days. If we want saddam to give up his own weapons of mass destruction then what right have we to be in posession of such bombs, whatever they may be?

- Where did this sudden resurrection of Iraq issues come from? Things had been *too* quiet for years, until just after September 11th. Did everyone almost forget about terrorism until then? Was it a reminder that Saddam really should be checked up on? Or is it the playground syndrome - that you pick on another kid to look tough when you've been picked on yourself? Is there a hidden agenda of warning for bin Laden in this? because if so, I don't think it's going to work.

- What was all that shit about the essay the government copied from a student online? The 9 year old essay that was supposed to be the undeniable evidence of the weaponry that's hidden somewhere in Iraq right now?! Come on, let's face it: Iraq are lying about what they have, and WE are lying about what we've FOUND. I don't feel I can believe evidence from either side.

- Are we about to see another wave of Gulf War Syndrome? If anyone else saw Tonight With trevor McDonald yesterday, that certainly looks likely. If we go to war it may not be the opposition that harms our soldiers.

- The way things are going, I don't think the UN is going to exist for much longer. The argument about whether to go to war or not has done as much damage to that as any bomb could do to a building. And when all this is over, what will be left of it? A shambles. Who's going to respect the requests of the UN when the members can't even respect each other?

- If the war is blocked by one means or another through the UN and Saddam does have the kind of weaponary that's been spoken of, then how much longer has this world got left? And if he has - then why have we bloody left it this long before we checked up on it??

I have a feeling about this war of real dread; the kind of which I've never had before. During the Gulf war I was just an 11 year old kid, but was terrified because I thought that Saddam Hussein would attack the UK as the troops were attacking him. And yet back then I never felt this kind of heavy dread. I have a deep, dark feeling about this war that I've never had during any war, attack etc that I've known during my lifetime. War can often feel a long way away when you only see the pictures on TV, but this one doesn't.

It doesn't help me decide one way or the other. Dread if you do, dread if you don't. I am lucky in that I don't know anyone personally who's been called up, but my boss's daughter in law already has been. She's a member of the T.A. and is on standby. I can see that he's worried. I don't know how I'd be feeling if I were in his shoes.

I'm just a member of the general public who, like the majority of does, does not have all the information at my grasp to know one way or the other if we should go to war or not, and I don't have a crystal ball either. I can't see what will happen either way. But I have grim feelings that either way, things will never be the same again and that a grim time approaches.

These are just my views though. What do I know?

What's On: Manchester United Vs. Deportivo on ITV

Next: Food, please :)

Quote of the Moment:

<< Last Track / Next Track >>
.

.

Fantastic Double CD Includes Tracks:
.

1. Latest
2. Archives
3. Links
4. Rings
5. Profile
6. Biography
7. Googles
8. Health
9. Sexuality
10. LiveJournal
11. Dream Diary
12. Private
13. Surveys
14. Rings I Run
15. Tattoos
16. Wishlist
.

Karaoke versions available of:

GUESTBOOK - NOTES - TOISEBOOK
- EMAIL - FORUM -

.

CD 2 Includes the Following Remixes:
.

Powered by TagBoard
Name

URL or Email

Messages (smilies)

Starting Again? - 2005-06-11
Returning - 2004-08-16
Just Wondering - - 2004-07-30
Birthday - 2004-02-23
A New Year - 2003-12-31



grrr // Jaye
.

..

.
All lyrics ramblings � Little Miss X, with painkillers on backing vocals, 'toises on drums and Izzles on the musical toilet rolls. And if you would like to know more about the music *I* enjoy, see my playlist. Best viewed in 800x600 and with a pair of eyes and a sense of humour.With thanks to Diaryland.

.
.

Check out great albums by the following artists: ......And many, many more!